Retroactive policy tyranny
Retroactive policy tyranny is the punishment and sanctioning of users on online platforms and in internet communities for existing content which only fails to comply to community/site policies updated after it being uploaded, which is a common user criticism evasion tactic of community moderation and/or site administration.
Users might not be notified in advance of a policy change or their accounts be sanctioned while absent (whether short- or long-term), without a grace period to manually remove existing published material from the platform.
Retroactive policies might affect content published years prior, making it difficult and time-consuming for the users to individually pick and remove content potentially in violation of retoactive policies, often forcing them to cause collateral damage by removing a selected time range of content which may include such not in violation.
|This Internet-related article is a stub. You can help EverybodyWiki by expanding it.|